Pennsylvania residents 18 years of age and older who are affected by one of the following conditions are eligible for legal medical cannabis treatment in Pennsylvania:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- Cancer, including remission therapy;
- Crohn’s disease;
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the central nervous system (brain-spinal cord) with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity, and other associated neuropathies;
- Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders;
- HIV / AIDS;
- Huntington’s disease;
- Inflammatory bowel disease;
- Intractable seizures;
- Multiple sclerosis;
- Neurodegenerative diseases;
- Opioid use disorder for which conventional therapeutic interventions are contraindicated or ineffective, or for which adjunctive therapy is indicated in combination with primary therapeutic interventions;
- Parkinson’s disease;
- Post-traumatic stress disorder;
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain;
- Sickle cell anemia; and/or
- Terminal illness.
Minors with qualifying conditions may also be registered as medical cannabis patients, so long as they have a parent or legal guardian registered as a caregiver. Unfortunately, legal medical cannabis is only available to Pennsylvania residents at this time.
Interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Patient Card? Here’s how to do it.
Under the law, Pennsylvania residents who have a serious medical condition as certified by an approved physician are considered medical marijuana patients. Patients register for an ID card and use that card to obtain medical marijuana at a Pennsylvania dispensary:
- First, visit the Patients and Caregivers Registry and create a patient profile in the Department of Health’s patient and caregiver registry.
- Next, obtain a physician’s certification that you suffer from one of the 21 serious medical conditions.
- Then, return to the Patient and Caregivers Registry and pay for a medical marijuana ID card.
- Obtain medical marijuana from an approved dispensary in Pennsylvania.
While registration with the state is free of charge, individual certification centers will each charge their own fees for your appointments.
Additionally, patients who have received their certification can optionally choose to have a Patient ID card printed by the state commission, for an additional fee of $50.
After receiving both your Patient ID number and your doctor’s certification, you will immediately be ready to visit your choice of dispensary and make your first selection of medicine! Be sure to always have your government-issued ID and doctor’s certification with you during your dispensary visits.
There are no membership fees. Harvest is open to all qualifying patients.